le weekend

Don’t you love a good weekend? The perfect mix of work and relaxation, soft jazz and “party station” music, workouts and hangouts. This was one of those weekends! It wasn’t the perfect weekend, not excellent even, but it was a pretty darn good one! Friday night was timed just right. After getting home from work I was psyched to make a bowl of yummy mango salsa to get the weekend off on the right foot. The flavors and colors are so good together. I was just in Thailand for work and was a little nervous about buying mangoes in the States after tasting the perfectly ripe mangoes in Thailand, but I was not let down. So yummy! Mango salsa is not a complicated thing: mangoes, tomatoes, onion, cilantro, jalapeno, lime juice – CHOP! I wished I had a cold beer to accompany the creation, but a glass of slightly chilled wine did the trick.

Weekends are also so marvy for cup after cup of coffee. I have been on a low-caffeine kick recently so when I say cup after cup, that is literally all I drink – two cups. But, weekend coffee tastes better, smells better, and is better enjoyed than the cup of coffee I have at work. Maybe it is that I can choose the mug I want to reflect my mood.

IMG_0273

I caught up on some podcasts on Saturday and Sunday afternoons while starting a new crafty project! I haven’t attempted a crafty project in a long, long time. My usual hobbies for the past several years have been cooking, baking, hiking, running, reading, gardening. That about sums it up. But, I have always loved theย idea of doing something creative with my hands. So, I took the plunge and ordered a couple of kits from Purl – a shop in NYC I perused while one of my best lady friends was visiting me when I was in NYC for grad school. The kits are maybe a bit more expensive than necessary, but they got me inspired so I scooped up a couple of them! I hadn’t done any needlework since I was about 9 years old – 20 years ago. The first stitch was not taken without trepidation. But, thanks to a you tube video from a Kiwi woman with a site called Stitching Cow (how could I go wrong with that combo), encouragement from good friends and my moma, and a little muscle memory things got off to a good start! It isn’t perfect, but it was fun to get into it while listening to Freakonomics, Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me, and This American Life.

Everything this weekend was rounded out by two fantastic (but hot – it is already in the 80s in DC) runs! I have this totally new surge of energy and exuberance for running and I am riding the wave while it lasts! I’ll write more about this in another post this week. I also enjoyed nice long chats with my man – hard to beat that!

How was your weekend? What did you do or not do and instead lounge around enjoying the lazy days ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was published on April 16, 2012 at 11:01 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “le weekend

  1. i liked my weekend. it had gloomy weather, but we still saw friends and went out and about. i like the balance of industry + laziness on weekends… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

